Types of Design Patterns from GoF

Learn about different types of patterns.


The book Design Patterns: Elements of Reusable Object-Oriented Software is written by Erich Gamma, Richard Helm, Ralph Johnson, and John Vlissides. These four authors are known as the Gang of Four (GoF). This book is credited with launching patterns in the software world. It’s a well-organized document that divides a pattern into several sections: intent, motivation, applicability, structure, participants, collaborations, consequences, implementation, sample code, known uses, and related patterns, just to name a few. The GoF patterns are huge, with each one encompassing a dozen pages.

Types of patterns

The GoF has a collection of 23 design patterns. The patterns are divided into three main categories:

  • Behavioral patterns: For defining how objects interact
  • Creational patterns: For object creation
  • Structural patterns: For object relationships

Create a free account to view this lesson.

By signing up, you agree to Educative's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy